Hematology-Oncology Interest Group (HOIG)


Mission Statement

Explore the constantly evolving field of hematology/oncology from a clinical and research perspective, while providing students with an opportunity to shadow and build professional relationships in various aspects of hematology/oncology.




Club Leadership

2017 - 2018 Co-Leaders: Jenna Koblinski (jennakoblinski@email.arizona.edu), Tory Prynn (tprynn1@email.arizona.edu), Cecilia Chou (cchou16@email.arizona.edu), Kimberly Artounian (artounian@email.arizona.edu), Zubair Ahmed (zahmed@email.arizona.edu) 

2016 - 2017 Co-Leaders: Agnes Ewongwo (ewongwo@email.arizona.edu ), Sarah Patel (sarahpatel@email.arizona.edu), Eyal Ron (eron@email.arizona.edu), George Nguyen (gnguyen94@email.arizona.edu)

2015 - 2016 Co-Leaders: Eric Miller (ejmiller@email.arizona.edu), Michael Wassermann (mwassermann@email.arizona.edu), Charles Smith (cls1989@email.arizona.edu), Tyson Amundsen (tysonamundsen@email.arizona.edu)

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Suwon Kim, suwon@email.arizona.edu




Club Activities for 2018-2019 School Year:

Physician Lunch Talk, October 2018: Students learned about the critical role of supportive care and survivorship in oncology from Dr. Kerry Tobias of the University of Arizona Cancer Center. Her background in PMNR and triple board certification in Pain Medicine, Hospice, and Palliative Medicine provided a unique perspective of the wide range of care needed in the field of hematology/oncology. 

Past Club Activities:

Physician Lunch Talk, April 2018: Local hematologist-oncologist Dr. Matt Ulrickson from the MD Anderson Cancer Center discussed his experiences in the field with students.

Image result for md anderson cancer center arizona


Be The Match Bone Marrow Donor Drive, April 2018: We held a two-day bone marrow registry through Be The Match for the Phoenix Biomedical Campus.