Integrative and Preventive Medicine Interest Group (IPMIG)

Mission Statement:

The Integrative and Preventive Medicine Interest Group aims to enhance medical students’ understanding of how to integrate evidence based complementary and alternative therapies and lifestyle modifications into medical practice. Fundamental knowledge in these areas are essential for a physician to take part in the prevention and treatment of many diseases, and to promote overall health of their patients.

Club Leadership

Current Leaders

Tamara Sleem, tsleem@email.arizona.edu

Kylie Kilian, kyliekilian@email.arizona.edu

Past Leaders

Melanie Schroeder, melmschr@email.arizona.edu

Belle Keni Lin, bkl10@email.arizona.edu

Monica Sadhu, msadhu@email.arizona.edu

Jessica Callan, jcallan@email.arizona.edu

Kaitlyn Simmons, ksimmon1@email.arizona.edu

Pareena Kaur, pareenak@email.arizona.edu

Rose Kaur, bkaur@email.arizona.edu

Zubair Ahmed, ZAhmed10@email.arizona.edu

Jocelyn Di Nolfi, jdinolfi@email.arizona.edu

Lexi Tatem, atatem@email.arizona.edu

Jessie Koljonen, jessiekoljonen@email.arizona.edu

Nuria Sisterna, nsistern@email.arizona.edu

Mia Wright, mcw1@email.arizona.edu

Arianna Cook, acook581@email.arizona.edu

Abeer Mousa, amousa@email.arizona.edu

Aishan Shi, ashi1@email.arizona.edu

Meghan Hicks, mcurry1@email.arizona.edu

Nechama Sonenthal, nechamasonenthal@email.arizona.edu

Lauren Cole, lcole1@email.arizona.edu

Faculty Advisor

Dr. Farshad Fani Marvasti, MD, MPH

ffm@email.arizona.edu

Events


Past Events

~Spring 2020: Holistic Benefits of Yoga Talk and Practice

~Winter 2019: Weekly yoga sessions

~Spring 2019: Women's Health and Functional Medicine Talk

~Fall 2018: Midwives in Medicine Lunch Talk

~Fall 2018: Dietitian Lunch Talk

~ Fall 2017: Acupuncture Lecture with Dr. Cartsonis

~ April 2016: Integrative Medicine Talk with Dr. Weil & Dr. Maizes in Tucson

~ April 2016: IPMIG Introductory Lunch Talk with Dr. Farshad Fani Marvasti

~ Fall 2016: Wellness Week